Question on upgrading from Ver 1.24 to newest 1.45

Discussions related to HTTPAPI (An HTTP Client Package for RPG programming.) http://www.scottklement.com/httpapi/
wsbaggett

Question on upgrading from Ver 1.24 to newest 1.45

Post by wsbaggett »

I'm new to my current RPGLE developer position with my current employer....and have been tasked with changing the way we get responses back from a client API in JSON instead of XML. A previous developer loaded Scott's HTTPAPI open source code several years ago to get the response in a RPGLE program in XML and it has been work untouched since then....it is Ver 1.24 I'm reading that I need to use one of the new features such as HTTP_req() or HTTP_string() to retrieve the response back from the client's API and then use Scott's Yajl open source (I have already downloaded the Yajl code and placed on the AS400/iSeries) to parse it into a RPGLE DS...using something like this from one of Scott's examples:

Code: Select all

jsonData = http_string( 'GET': BASEURL);

data-into cust %DATA( jsonData
                      : 'case=convert countprefix=num_')
                      %PARSER('YAJLINTO’);
I haven't been able to find any specific instructions on how I should upgrade from HTTPAPI Ver 1.24 to 1.45....I don't want to hose up anything that is currently working until I can get the new JSON process working. Any suggestions?
Scott Klement
Site Admin

Re: Question on upgrading from Ver 1.24 to newest 1.45

Post by Scott Klement »

You can simply delete your current HTTPAPI installation and install the new one.

Or, if you are worried about a problem, you can install the new one in a different library and adjust your library list to use the new one. Test your software, if it doesn't work, put the old one back in your library list.
wsbaggett

Post by wsbaggett »